The Molly Weasley Sweater

Like most crocheters who are also Harry Potter fans, I dreamt of the sweater Molly Weasley wore in “Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets.” It was amazing! Full of colors, pattern with enormous bell sleeves.  It has become quite a hot item to make, both in wearable size and in miniature. Here’s what the original looks like.

The colors are brighter in the movie

The colors are brighter in the movie

I imagine Molly making the sleeves with the leftover yarn from each year’s Christmas sweaters. If I was going to make this, I wanted to actually wear it. Molly’s sweater has a simple double crochet pink body. Since it was the sleeves I loved that was the part I would make. I cut the sleeves off a red sweater I had and unwound the yarn to include in my sleeves. Here’s the result.

An old sweater gets new sleeves

An old sweater gets new sleeves

It’s been a lot of fun to wear and quite comfortable. It is a winter sweater however, as the sleeves are heavy & warm. I am surprised at how often people recognize it as being from a Harry Potter movie, even if I don’t wear a witche’s hat with it!

2 Responses to “The Molly Weasley Sweater”


  1. 1 Thespoena McLaughlin January 15, 2010 at 7:48 am

    Fabulous! I like your sweater! I wish I could crochet. It really is the one craft I can not do. I’ve tried for years but just can’t get the hang of it. I do pretty much everything else though. I love the sleeves, I would like to have one with light weight yarns and darker colors. Have a Happy Day!

  2. 2 techmom236 January 23, 2010 at 9:21 pm

    Thanks! I was nervous making this one but it has been great. I get lots of compliments on it, even from people who don’t recognize the Harry Potter origins.


Leave a Reply

February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Jun »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 7,660 hits

Traditional Books: What I’m reading

  • "Elegant Enigmas:the art of Edward Gorey" by Karen Wilkin
  • "Around the Border: Crochet Borders" by Edie Eckman
  • "Crochet Master Class" by Jean Leinhauser and Rita Weiss
  • Audiobooks: I’m listening to these

    "The Graveyard Book" by Neil Gaiman
  • "For Us, The Living" by Robert Heinlein
  • eBooks: What’s in my digital readers

  • "Page" by Tamora Pierce
  • "Alice's Adventures Underground" by Lewis Carroll (his original manuscript)
  • Music: This week’s playlist

  • "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2" Soundtrack by Alexandre Desplat
  • "Pure Cajun" collection by "various artists"
  • "Duets: An American Classic" by Tony Bennett
  • "The Fantasticks" Original Cast Album (with Jerry Orbach!)

  • Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

