Happy 4th of July Banner

Banner made using CDs and wallpaper
Banner made using CDs and wallpaper . Click on it for a  bigger picture

How I spent the 4th of July—making this banner!

Fun, easy, and way too time consuming. Well, the first one often is. Here’s what I did.

  1. Printed the letters on scrap paper. Taped them to the wallpaper and cut them out. Next time, I think I will try printing them (reversed!) on the back side of cut-to-fit pieces of wallpaper.
  2. Edged the letters with black permanent marker.
  3. Used MS Word to create the background paper. The text is from the Declaration of Independence. I also used Word to draw circles on top of the text so I knew where to cut.
  4. Cut out the paper circles with paper edgers and glue on the letters.
  5. Glue the circles to the CDs.
  6. Cut the big (6.5″) circles from more wallpaper. Attach the CDs with E6000. I positioned the CD slightly low on the circle to leave room for the hanging cord.
  7. Punched two holes to thread the cord.
  8. Finally, I attached the hanging cord. In this case, I used raffia, knotting lengths together to get what I needed. More knots were used to hold the pieces in place. I also used packing tape on the back to re-enforce both the holes and cords.

What took so long

  • Making the letters. I started by using a stencil but decided they were both too big and too thin. Next I experimented with getting the right size fonts. I needed different sizes for the 4, th, and of.
  • Choosing wallpaper designs for both the letters and the background. I finally settled on these from a book of Victorian style wallpapers.
  • Looking for the right material to hang the pieces. I was sure I had some 1 1/2 inch maroon ribbon but it wasn’t in any of my ribbon stashes. I almost decided on using wide bias tape but couldn’t find a color I liked.
  • Remembering AFTER THE FACT that wallpaper is fragile—it’s designed to be held up by a wall. That’s why I used the packing tape. Once I take it down, I may attach another, non-visible layer to strengthen the wallpaper. Last time I made a banner with wallpaper, I cut up old Tyvek envelopes and attached them to the last layer. It made for a very strong, yet flexible backing.

I also thought about putting a bead of glitter on the wallpaper around the CD. What do you think?

Should there be a line of glitter around the CD?

Should there be a line of glitter around the CD? Click on it for a bigger picture

2 Responses to “Happy 4th of July Banner”


  1. 1 Janet July 12, 2008 at 9:14 am

    What a great idea! I am on CTTM with you and just saw about this and your new blog. I am going to do some garlands for Christmas and I may try this idea! Thanks!!

  2. 2 techmom236 July 13, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    I’m glad that you like. It is a certainly a fun banner and when the sun catches the CD, it really shines.

    I was thinking about ways to really light up the CDs on another type of banner. In the past, I have simply poked a light bulb through the center hole of the CD but I was thinking about do something more. It really looks amazing when you have a whole light strand “enhanced” with CDs. The mini-disc CDs work very well also.


Leave a Reply

July 2008
S M T W T F S
    Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 8,654 hits

Traditional Books: What I’m reading

  • "Elegant Enigmas:the art of Edward Gorey" by Karen Wilkin
  • "Around the Border: Crochet Borders" by Edie Eckman
  • "Crochet Master Class" by Jean Leinhauser and Rita Weiss
  • Audiobooks: I’m listening to these

    "The Graveyard Book" by Neil Gaiman
  • "For Us, The Living" by Robert Heinlein
  • eBooks: What’s in my digital readers

  • "Page" by Tamora Pierce
  • "Alice's Adventures Underground" by Lewis Carroll (his original manuscript)
  • Music: This week’s playlist

  • "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2" Soundtrack by Alexandre Desplat
  • "Pure Cajun" collection by "various artists"
  • "Duets: An American Classic" by Tony Bennett
  • "The Fantasticks" Original Cast Album (with Jerry Orbach!)

