Many email lists, the oldest for over 10 years

My in-box is huge, with over 100 messages coming in each day, many of them digests. To handle it all, I do a quick scan, deleting the spam, bacon, and junk. Then I read the personal messages, scan headlines and call it good.

I like the new Internet word “bacon.” It means email that you ordered but don’t read today. This time of year most of the school-related ones are bacon to me.

Two of the daily messages are from lists that I joined over 10 years ago. One is a daily positive-thinking quote. I like this list because the messages are not too sweet. It’s at http://www.cybernation.com

Here’s today’s:
Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are.

John Wooden
(1910-, American Basketball Coach)

I also get a similar one in a weekly message. This one calls for more work. You read the quote and answer a couple of questions. This one is http://powerquotes.net

I’ve only been getting this one for a few years.

Feeling gratitude and not expressing it is like wrapping a present and not giving

— William Arthur Ward, author and editor

Questions to Ponder

What gratitude do I feel today?

How will I share it?

Action Steps

Take your gratitude and share it with others today.

Tell people.

Thank people.

And your gratitude will grow.

Finally, the other message that I get each day is from http://www.jigzone.com I’ve been using this with students since at least 1999, when I first started teaching at St Paul’s. It is great for the primary students, especially those just starting to use a computer mouse.  Unfortunately, sometimes months go by when the puzzle is bacon to me.

1 Response to “Many email lists, the oldest for over 10 years”


  1. 1 LizP August 4, 2008 at 6:23 am

    Cool new/old word … bacon! I’ll have to remember that one. I seem to get a lot of “bacon”.


Leave a Reply

July 2008
S M T W T F S
    Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 8,603 hits

Traditional Books: What I’m reading

  • "Elegant Enigmas:the art of Edward Gorey" by Karen Wilkin
  • "Around the Border: Crochet Borders" by Edie Eckman
  • "Crochet Master Class" by Jean Leinhauser and Rita Weiss
  • Audiobooks: I’m listening to these

    "The Graveyard Book" by Neil Gaiman
  • "For Us, The Living" by Robert Heinlein
  • eBooks: What’s in my digital readers

  • "Page" by Tamora Pierce
  • "Alice's Adventures Underground" by Lewis Carroll (his original manuscript)
  • Music: This week’s playlist

  • "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2" Soundtrack by Alexandre Desplat
  • "Pure Cajun" collection by "various artists"
  • "Duets: An American Classic" by Tony Bennett
  • "The Fantasticks" Original Cast Album (with Jerry Orbach!)

