Zentangles

Last spring I came across an interesting style of art. It’s called Zentangles and produces complex-looking art, yet it is simple to do. Here’s their website:

http://zentangle.com/index.php

Their tag line is “Anything is possible…one stroke at a time.”

I’ve done a few Zentangles, mostly by starting with their “tangles” then making variations of it.

Now, I’ve joined with a couple of friends and we are doing Zentangle challenges, where we start with a basic design, then do our own take on it. The design on the left is our original work and the one on the right is our enhanced piece. Here are some examples:

Color is important to me.

Color is important to me.

I added new tangles to this one.

I added new tangles to this one.

This will be the front page of a small notebook of my Zentangles

This is the front page of my Zentangle Challenge book.

The artwork starts off small as they use 3 1/2 inch squares of heavy paper. Some of the designs on their website become quite large and complex. For the challenges, we are going a little smaller so they will fit in the notebooks we have.

For my own tangle variations and practice, I’m using the larger size and have started a notebook of them, using old floppy discs as the covers. I’ll post more on those later.

0 Responses to “Zentangles”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 8,654 hits

Traditional Books: What I’m reading

  • "Elegant Enigmas:the art of Edward Gorey" by Karen Wilkin
  • "Around the Border: Crochet Borders" by Edie Eckman
  • "Crochet Master Class" by Jean Leinhauser and Rita Weiss
  • Audiobooks: I’m listening to these

    "The Graveyard Book" by Neil Gaiman
  • "For Us, The Living" by Robert Heinlein
  • eBooks: What’s in my digital readers

  • "Page" by Tamora Pierce
  • "Alice's Adventures Underground" by Lewis Carroll (his original manuscript)
  • Music: This week’s playlist

  • "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2" Soundtrack by Alexandre Desplat
  • "Pure Cajun" collection by "various artists"
  • "Duets: An American Classic" by Tony Bennett
  • "The Fantasticks" Original Cast Album (with Jerry Orbach!)

